Powers Pleasant’s New Album Is A Beautiful Production


Featuring all East Coast talent, aside from Buddy and G Perico, Powers Pleasant’s Life Is Beautiful is a collection of collaborative anthems that range from hardcore hip-hop to the love song that “Hit My Line” is. Personally, this project seems more like an EP or a playlist, but nonetheless, the Pro Era co-founder has produced a full project. While the album only sits at twenty-three minutes, it’s still produced well. 

Powers is further proving his ability to be a real producer, and he’s doing so on his own, in the credits of this album you’ll only find two other producers, Dre Moon produced “Sway’s Intro” along with Powers, and Adam Pallin is credited as having additional production on “Pull Up (Beastcoast Remix).” 

Because of the number of lyrical artists featured on the project, it does make it hard to listen to in the car, aside from maybe the tracks “Can’t Fucc Wit It” and “Pull Up,” but if you have the time to sit down and digest this album, you’ll probably have a hard time skipping any of the tracks. 

Track 1: “Sway’s Intro”

“Sway’s Intro” features vocals from Sway Calloway of the SiriusXM / Shade45 hip-hop radio show Sway in the Morning. The Dre Moon and Powers Pleasant production allows Sway to show love to Powers. While there are really good songs on Life Is Beautiful, the intro is the only song that screams that sentiment. But with that being said, Sway deserves the respect, so respect to Powers Pleasant for featuring him on his album.


Track 2: “Vintage Chanel” feat. Joey Bada$$, Kirk Knight, Meechy Darko, and Zombie Juice

Featuring Joey Bada$$ and Kirk Knight of Pro Era and Meechy Darko and Zombie Juice of Flatbush Zombies, this song is a certified banger. Kirk Knight provides the simple yet hard chorus for the song, you most likely know Kirk’s voice in most recent times, but he is prominently known for his production on tracks like A$AP Ferg’s “Plain Jane” and Joey Bada$$’ “Devastated.” The braggadocious track is fun and is just here to flex the flows and lyrical abilities of Joey, Meechy, and Zombie Juice.


Track 3: “Please Forgive” feat. Denzel Curry, IDK, Zombie Juice, and ZillaKami

“Please Forgive” is another song that flexes the artists of the East Coast. The hardcore song has Denzel Curry and IDK, who have released multiple songs together, as well as toured together multiple times, once with A$AP Ferg on his Mad Man Tour. The track also features Denzel’s close friend ZillaKami who is as hardcore as hardcore gets. Zombie Juice from Flatbush Zombie is also on the track. IDK being on the chorus for the song is just one of the reasons that this song stands out and is unique, along with IDK, Denzel, ZillaKami, and Zombie Juice all having unique styles, voices, flows, and rhyme patterns. This song is dark and full of energy all at the same time.


Track 4: “Can’t Fucc Wit It” feat. G Perico and Buddy

“Can’t Fucc Wit It” is Powers Pleasant’s nod to West Coast and features G Perico and Buddy. This is the only song that doesn’t have an East Coast artist, and it works perfectly, Powers is not imitating West Coast production in any way, but it still fits the style that two Compton natives are rapping in perfectly. G Perico is a soon to be noticed artist that has recently signed to Roc Nation and is crip-affiliated, which influenced both the spelling of the song’s name, as well as the artwork for the single. Buddy has an established solo career, but he recently shined prominently on “Costa Rica,” “Wells Fargo (Interlude),” and “1993” from Dreamville’s recent compilation project. The two artists definitely showed off on this track, and I hope that this song gets the shine it deserves, it’s just so hard, yet they flow so smoothly over the hard production.


Track 5: “Pull Up” feat. Joey Bada$$ and A$AP Ferg

“Pull Up” is the second collaboration between the Pro Era member Joey Bada$$ and the A$AP Mob member A$AP Ferg following “What Happens” from the A$AP Mob’s Cozy Tapes, Vol. 2: Too Cozy which also featured A$AP Twelvyy, A$AP Rocky, Zombie Juice, Meechy Darko, Playboi Carti, Kirk Knight, and Nyck Caution. “Pull Up” isn’t exactly the track you’d expect from the two New York MCs, but it goes in, the hard beat mixed with the energetic verses from the two, as well as the collaborative chorus. This song is pretty much made to be performed by them just to get the crowd going insane.


Track 6: “Hit My Line” feat. Jay Critch, Joey Bada$$, and AKTHESAVIOR

Just because “Hit My Line” is the slowest song on the project, doesn’t mean it should be slept on. The track is heavily complemented by AKTHESAVIOR of The Underachievers’ smooth chorus, while also providing a great final verse. Just because it’s more of a love song, Jay Critch, who’s signed to Rich The Kid’s Rich Forever Music, and Joey Bada$$ are still able to flex their lyrical abilities while sticking to the topic of love. This song is just made to be liked by the guys and the girls, and I’m starting to like it more with each listen, I gotta show this to my girl.


Track 7: “Purified” feat. Joey Bada$$, CJ Fly, and Aaron Rose

This song is just a vibe. The song has Joey Bada$$, CJ Fly, and Aaron Rose, all of Pro Era, and they definitely had vacations and summertime in mind when they made this song. Powers’ production is complemented by bass (performed by Graham Masser), guitar (performed by Salim Akram), and additionals keyboards (performed by RP Thompson). This song is just to show the diversity of the artists, and it definitely does, it chills out the album while bringing it to a close.


Track 8: “Pull Up (Beastcoast Remix)” feat. Joey Bada$$, Meechy Darko, Zombie Juice, and The Underachievers

Along with Powers Pleasant, Adam Pallin is credited as having additional production on the song. While the Beast Coast album Escape From New York came before Life Is Beautiful, this remix was the first official song released by Beast Coast, the supergroup that is comprised of Pro Era, Flatbush Zombies, and The Underachievers, who are now touring together following the release of Escape From New York. While this remix was just a teaser of what was to come and it might technically be a bonus track on Life Is Beautiful, the beat from “Pull Up” was the perfect way to do so. It was just asking to be destroyed by this kind of energy. While Joey and Ferg did their thing on the song, this remix is just a different kind of energy that only a posse cut can create.


With that being said, “Pull Up (Beastcoast Remix),” “Purified,” “Can’t Fucc Wit It,” and “Please Forgive” are definitely the standout tracks to me on this project. Powers Pleasant is definitely using the trend of having shorter albums to his advantage, as there are no filler songs, just great well put together songs. While it’s very possible that some of these tracks are leftover from Pro Era’s artists’ projects or the Beast Coast collective’s album, that doesn’t matter, what matters is that these tracks were kept around and used for Powers’ debut album.

You can find Life Is Beautiful on all streaming services now! What do you think of the album? Too long? Too short? Do you agree or disagree with any of my comments? Let me know in the comments below! 


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published